Child safety on farms 2017 calendar launch

Date published: 24 November 2016

Chairman of the Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI), George Lucas, today launched the ‘Avoid Harm on the Farm’ 2017 calendar.

2017 calendar launch

The calendar features winning entries from this year’s child safety on farms poster competition.  This year over 5,000 school children from over 100 schools submitted entries. 

The launch took place at Portaferry Integrated Primary School where one of the winning entrants attends.  

Speaking during the launch, George Lucas said:

“Once again school children in rural primary schools across Northern Ireland have shown great artistic flair and it has not been an easy task to choose just 12 entries for the calendar.

“The poster competition and calendar is a great learning tool for the pupils in thinking about the dangers and steps they can take to be safe on the farm.   

“Additionally the calendar provides a useful daily planner for farming families and offers a reminder of farm safety messages throughout the year.”

This year the calendar has been sponsored by a number of the Farm Safety Partnership (FSP) Affiliate organisations, ABP Group, AES UK & Ireland, Asda, IOSH and the Northern Ireland Safety Group.  As FSP Affiliates these organisations have pledged to use their position and resources to promote the farm safety message and HSENI is very grateful for their support. 

For more information about child safety on farms please visit our farm safety webpage:

2016/17 poster competition winners

Special School

  • First - Ethan Faulkner, Beechlawn Special School
  • Second - Ben Welch, Beechlawn Special School
  • Third - Michael Tabb, Beechlawn Special School


  • First - Timmy McWhinney, Portaferry Integrated Primary School
  • Second - Cara Matthews, Cloughoge Primary School
  • Third - Cody Hill, Clough Primary School

Key stage 1

  • First - Stephen McIlmoyle, Rasharkin Primary School
  • Second - Lily McCartney, Clough Primary School
  • Third - Robyn Baird, Rasharkin Primary School

Key stage 2

  • First - Ilaria Toner, St Colmcille's Primary School, Claudy  
  • Second - Millie Knobbs, St Patrick’s Primary School, Dunamanagh
  • Third - Erin O’Neill, St Brigid’s Primary School, Cranagh, Omagh

You can view the winning entries by following the link below:


Notes to editors: 

  1. Photo caption: From left to right, Portaferry Integrated Primary School Principal Mrs Dorothy McKeating, HSENI Chairman George Lucas and winning entrant Timmy McWhinney.
  2. The 2017 farm safety on farms calendar is available to view at the following link:
  3. The 2017 farm safety on farms calendar was sponsored by the following Farm Safety Partnership (FSP) Affiliates
    1. ABP Group
    2. AES UK & Ireland
    3. Asda
    4. IOSH
    5. The Northern Ireland Safety Group
  4. Farm Safety Partnership Affiliates are organisations operating within Northern Ireland who have pledged to utilise their resources and expertise to improve farm safety.
  5. The Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI) is an Executive Non-Departmental Public Body, sponsored by the Department for the Economy. 
  6. HSENI is the lead body responsible for the promotion and enforcement of health and safety at work standards in Northern Ireland.

Share this page